PTI announces award recipients

Farmington Hills, Mich. — The Post-Tensioning Institute (PTI) announced the 2014 PTI Legends of Post-Tensioning, Fellow Inductees, TAB Award Recipients, and PTI/AMSYSCO Student Scholarship Award Recipients who will be honored during the PTI Awards Presentation at the 2014 PTI Convention, May 4-6, Norfolk, VA.

PTI’s “Legends of Post-Tensioning” awards honor the members of PTI’s Hall of Fame. These individuals have all made significant long-term contributions to the development of the post-tensioning industry in North America and were selected from among nominees put forth by the PTI membership.

• Philip R. Arana joined the post-tensioning industry in 1969, in Los Angeles after working in structural engineering for eight years. Arana was instrumental in introducing the design and use of unbonded post-tensioning for high-rise buildings in the Southeast United States, Central and Parts of South America, and the Caribbean Area. After many years of work in these areas, the use of post-tensioning in high-rise buildings reached its highest volume in the southeast United States in the economic peak years of 2005 to 2007. Arana retired from post-tensioning in 2009, after 40 years in the industry and works for his two sons in the commercial and residential remodeling industry in Florida.

• Lucien Cloutier has worked in the post-tensioning industry for 50 years. Cloutier began working under Fors Pahaphil who is well-known to those in the post-tensioning field. Beginning in 1971, Cloutier worked as a general foreman, superintendent, and then Manager during his career with Con Force where he worked on a number of impressive projects. In 1995, he began work on the Confederation Bridge in Prince Edward Island, the longest bridge over ice-covered waters in the world. During this time Cloutier worked two years as a PT Manager of three post-tensioning companies that included DSI, Freyssinet, and a VSL joint venture. In 2006 he started his own international consulting company named LCPT International Consulting. His last project to date was the New York Manhattan West project, working as a consultant.

• H. Carl Walker is a structural engineer and parking consultant from Kalamazoo, Mich., who has specialized in the planning, design, construction, and restoration of prestressed concrete parking structures for over 50 years. Walker has been personally involved in over 2,500 parking projects including the prime design of over 500 completed parking structures. This included working with PTI staff in developing post-tensioning tendon materials, production, placing, and stressing criteria to assure durable parking structures in deicing salt regions. He is a former member of the PTI Board of Directors and gave numerous lectures and seminars regarding the design and construction of durable post-tensioned parking structures.

The PTI Fellow award is presented to individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the production or use of post-tensioning and who have made significant contributions to PTI committees. In addition, a minimum of five years active PTI membership is required to receive this award. The 2014 PTI Fellow inductees are:

  • H.R. (Trey) Hamilton, University of Florida
  • Andrew Micklus, Jr., Freyssinet
  • Randall W. Poston, WDP & Associates, Inc.
  • Dean Read, Geostructural Tool Kit, Inc.
  • Guido Schwager, Schwager Davis, Inc.
  • Charles Skarbrevik, Charles R. Adams & Associates
  • Ryne Stoker, GeotTek Operations Limited

The PTI Technical Advisory Board (TAB) presents awards to groups and individuals who have gone beyond the call of duty and provided PTI with time and resources that are out of the ordinary.

· Cary Kopczynski, Cary Kopczynski & Company (CKC), will receive the James Cagley Medal for Most Active Technical Committee Chair, for his outstanding contributions to PTI and the Industry as Chair of the PTI Technical Advisory Board (TAB).

· Homer Parker, Jr., Parker Engineering, LLC, will receive the Russell Price award for Most Active Committee Member for his many contributions to PTI and the Industry as Member of PTI Committee DC-10 and as Chair of DC-10A.

· Kenneth B. Bondy, Consulting Structural Engineer, will receive the TAB Service Award for his outstanding contributions to PTI and the industry through his service on TAB from 2004 to 2013.

The PTI/AMSYSCO Scholarship was established in 2011 by AMSYSCO, Inc. to commemorate the company’s 30 years in the post-tensioning industry. Each scholarship includes the students travel to the PTI Convention as well as a financial contribution toward their current term. The 2014 recipients are:

  • Natassia Brenkus, University of Florida
  • Philip Six, Utah State University

The awards presentation will take place on Monday May 5, 2014 from 6:00 p.m. - 8:30 p.m. at the Marriott Norfolk Waterfront, Norfolk, Va. The convention includes technical sessions, committee meetings, networking events, and an industry trade show. Register for the convention at or onsite at the convention.

More Recent News

View All News

Upcoming Events

See All Upcoming Events