February 2011 » Departments

ACI announces new concrete sustainability award
— The American Concrete Institute (ACI) is seeking submissions for its new Concrete Sustainability Award, which will be awarded during the ACI Fall Convention in Toronto, Ontario, Oct. 21-25, 2012. The award recognizes individuals or teams who have made contributions in highlighting concrete’s role related to sustainability. The deadline for submissions is Feb. 28, 2011.

For more information, submission instructions, and downloadable entry forms, visit

Massachusetts engineer elected to National College of Fellows
— James Pappas, national director for the American Council of Engineering Companies of Massachusetts (ACEC/MA), was named to the College of Fellows of the national ACEC organization. The College of Fellows recognizes the organization’s “elite” group of engineers who have made significant contribution to the engineering profession through their experience, knowledge, and networking abilities.

A senior principal at Stantec and leader of the firm’s New England region, Pappas has a long history with ACEC/MA, including serving on the board of directors, as vice president, as president, and now as national director, representing the chapter on the national level. Pappas also is the ACEC/MA representative to the boards of The Engineering Center and The Engineering Center Education Trust as well as a member of the ACEC National Environmental and Transportation Committees.

Water Environment Federation appoints new executive director
— Jeff Eger was named the new executive director of the Water Environment Federation (WEF). Eger comes to WEF from Sanitation District 1 (SD1) in Fort Wright, Ky., where he has served as executive director since 1994. SD1 is the second largest public sewer utility in Kentucky, maintaining $1 billion in physical assets.

Eger is a member and past chairman of The Ohio River Valley Water Sanitation Commission, the water pollution control agency for the Ohio River and its tributaries. He also chairs the Wet Weather Partnership, a national organization dedicated to seeking environmentally responsible solutions to urban wet weather issues.

WWEMA names ’Member of the Year’
— The Water and Wastewater Equipment Manufacturers Association (WWEMA) named Ken George, director of treatment sales at ITT Water and Wastewater USA, as its “Member of the Year.” The James C. Morriss Member Achievement Award was presented to George on Nov. 12 at the WWEMA 102nd Annual Meeting in Tucson, Ariz. The award was created to recognize outstanding achievement in serving the interests of the association.

Water quality specialist honored with Award of Excellence
— Marvin N. Kaden, senior water quality specialist for the water/wastewater practice of Gannett Fleming, was awarded the American Water Works Association (AWWA) Florida Section Chair’s Award of Excellence for Distinguished Service. He also was appointed to the board of governors as chair of the operators council. In addition, he serves as the state awards chair and region IV executive board member.

A certified water and wastewater professional in Florida, Kaden holds an associate of applied science in business management from Nassau Community College, New York. He is a member of the Florida Rural Water Association, Southeast Desalting Association, Florida Water & Pollution Control Operator Association, and the Florida Water Environment Association.

Upcoming Events

See All Upcoming Events